SportHorse Sales

 
The barn is still under a 2 week quarantine and we should be able to leave the barn May 31st pending no new EHV outbreaks. Looks like things are holding steady and nothing has blown up. I know of several shows that are going to happen this weekend, so maybe the hysteria is dyeing down.  I miss my weekly lessons with my students.

I’m planning on going to Inavale farm for XC schooling May 31st. The weather looks like showers all week and hopefully the fields will be dry and we can have a fun school. I’ll be taking Clyde. I plan to school quite a bit of the Novice fences and jump the ditches and banks. I realized his first up bank was at the Aspen Derby last month. Nothing like learning on the fly….. Clyde is a great horse and I really enjoy riding him. He’s gamey and learns quickly. I’ll be taking a few students down as well.

Next up for Safari is the OI at Aspen. I’m looking forward to the course at Aspen. They usually have a challenging, but fair course. Hopefully the weather will be in their favor this year. The week leading up to the event last year was very wet. The footing in the back field was so deep, they had to remove that loop from the OI course, which made the course just over 4 min. Talk about a fast round. I felt like we were just getting started when we crossed the finish flags. I would also love to be in the permanent stalls, but I’m not holding my breath. Stabling was so packed and crowded last year.  Plus all the rain made everything so slippery, I had to put my truck in 4 wheel drive after getting stuck a few times.

The field at the barn is lovely right now and I’ve been riding dressage, hacking and doing trot and gallop sets out there. I plan to get my mower over there and mow a dressage arena. Cindy has steaks for a dressage arena and I need to get my letters cleaned up. It will be exciting to have a “real” dressage arena. After that chore is done, I plan to move a bunch of jumps into the field for a xc/derby set up.

Enjoy the holiday weekend!




Leave a Reply.