SportHorse Sales

 
I think Aspen Farms was the real winner last weekend. They produced the best footing, fair and tough courses and ideal weather. The stabling is a bit spread out, but our lot scored a great spot along the woods, right near our stalls and we were surrounded by a great group of Adult Riders.  Couldn’t ask for much better.

Safari and I did dressage bright and early Friday morning, drawing number 4. I rode for Roger Haller, who I thought was fair with his scores and gave good feedback. Overall my test was nice, but definitely not great. I got a bit lulled into the consistency of it and never really asked for more. So the result was a steady, obedient test that was rather dull. I definitely need to step up my game for the Advanced test in MT. It was a good wakeup call that you have to “bring it” at the upper levels if you want to be competitive.

My initial walk of the Intermediate cross-country was positive. I really liked the fences and the track and thought the footing was pretty much perfect. I was a little worried about the coffin, with the very angled ditch and interesting striding. The double corners in the back looked fun and was easily my favorite question on the course. Thanks to John Camlin for walking the course with me and encouraging me to have a bold, accurate ride; thinking about what it would take for the next level.  I knew the time would be very challenging and I was mostly concerned with having a solid go. I didn’t even wheel the course, but I did get the minute markers from Maris, thanks to her for sharing that!

Safari was a rock star over the entire course. We jumped the bounce bank to log great and did the straight line in the 4 stride at fence 4. The coffin was a bit peaky and he had quite a look at the ditch, trying to figure out how to jump the angle. He jumped in well, but jumped right over the ditch, and we got a short two strides out. The rest of the course flowed and I barely had to touch the reins. He jumped boldly over the corners in the 5 strides, but was a bit perplexed about the water after. He finished strong and came back great. Thanks to Liza for the champagne celebration!

Intermediate rode stadium early with an 8am start. I was jumping last since I had moved up to 1st after XC, only added 4 time penalties. Stadium is my weakest phase and I was quite nervous. I liked the course and thought it was large, but fair. The girl who was in 2nd had a clear round, getting very lucky with some heavy rubs throughout the course. Safari jumped really well and I only had one down in the middle of the triple. Unfortunately I didn’t have a rail in hand and I dropped to 2nd by 0.8. I am thrilled with our performance and I felt that both Safari and I have come a long ways in this phase. I’m seriously overjoyed with our round.

I’m headed to San Juan Island very early in the morning to teach Pony Club camp for the weekend. This will be my 4th year teaching camp and we always have a great time. I love the island and the weather has never disappointed. We will be on Orcas this year and I can’t wait to see everyone again.

I hope to post some pics from Aspen and camp after I get back. Enjoy the weekend!




Leave a Reply.